ActewAGL joint venture board

The board of ActewAGL is made up of three members appointed jointly by the SGSP (Australia) Assets Pty Ltd and AGL-owned partners, and three members appointed by the Icon Water-owned partners.

The board governs the business of the ActewAGL Retail and ActewAGL Distribution partnerships on behalf of the partners. The obligations of members of the board are set out in the Umbrella Agreement, and members must perform their duties in good faith and in the best interests of the partnerships as a whole.

Paul Adams, B.Eng (Hons), FAIM, FIEAust – Chair

Paul AdamsMr Paul Adams was appointed to the position of Chair of the ActewAGL Board in March 2017. He originally joined the Board in February 2011 and was appointed Deputy Chair of the Board in 2014. He was also the Chair of the ActewAGL Safety and Environment Committee.

Mr Adams is Managing Director of Jemena Limited and holds directorships at Energy Networks Association, SGSP (Australia) Assets Pty Ltd and various other companies. He has a breadth of experience in the energy sector, having worked across many facets of the gas and electricity industries for 30 years.

Mr Adams has held various senior roles including Manager Finance and Corporate Services, Manager Operations, and General Manager Networks for TXU. He was General Manager Networks at TXU and, General Manager Network Services Group at SP AusNet prior to his current role. He has worked in Australia, the United States and the United Kingdom.

Mr Adams has received awards including the Institution of Engineers (Victorian Young Engineer of the Year 1991) and Ernst and Young (Financial Planning Award 1995).

Dr Thomas Parry AM, PhD, MEc, BEc (Hons) – Deputy Chair

Dr Thomas Parry

Dr Thomas Parry was first appointed to the ActewAGL Board in March 2017.

Dr Parry was Foundation Chair of the Australian Energy Market Operator (2008-2015), is the former Chair of First State Super Trustee Corporation (2000–2014) and former Chair of the Sydney Water Corporation (2006–2013).

From 2004-2009, Dr Parry had several roles with Macquarie Bank and for the previous 12 years he was the Foundation Executive Chair of the Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal of NSW (IPART), and its predecessor for Government Pricing Tribunal - the first utility regulator in Australia. He has been the Head of the School of Economics, University of New South Wales and Dean, Faculty of Commerce, University of Wollongong.

Dr Parry is currently a Foundation Chair of Powering Australian Renewables Fund, a Director of ASX-Compliance (the regulatory arm of the Australian Securities Exchange), a Director of Powerco New Zealand.

He has extensive experience in corporate governance in the private and government sectors, regulatory and financial experience and substantial exposure to the water and energy industries.

Dr Parry has a Bachelor of Economics (Hons) and Masters of Economics from the University of Sydney and a PhD from the University of London (London School of Economics).

He was awarded an Order of Australia (AM) in 2008.

Dr Parry has been on the Icon Water Limited Board since November 2015.

Wendy Caird MAICD

Wendy CairdMs Wendy Caird was appointed to the Board in July 2013.

She has held a number of positions with Public Services International (France) including Co-chair Asia Pacific Region (1998-2002), a Member of the Executive Board (1997-2002), Global Director of the Quality Public Services campaign (2002 – 2006) and a Member of the Global Coordinating Committee of the "Global Call to Action Against Poverty: (Make Poverty History)" campaign (2005-2006).

Ms Caird held a number of executive positions with the Community and Public Sector Union (Australia) from 1983, including as NSW Branch Secretary, until her appointment as National Secretary in 1993. During this period she was Vice President of the Australian Council of Trade Unions and an Executive Member of the NSW Labour Council. She represented Australia at International Labour Organisation meetings, including as Co-chair of the Workers Group.

Ms Caird is a small business owner, the Vice President of the Kangaroo Valley Community Association, and a member of both the Kangaroo Valley Tourist Association and Kangaroo Valley Environment Group. She is Chair of the Boards of Icon Water Limited, Icon Retail Investments Limited and Icon Distribution Investments Limited. Ms Caird is also Chair of the ActewAGL Safety, Audit and Risk Committee.

Sun Peng, Bachelor of Power System and Automation, Master of Micro-Processor based Protection

Mr Sun Peng

Mr Sun is the Deputy Managing Director for Jemena and was appointed to the ActewAGL Board in July 2016.

He has more than 25 years’ experience in China’s power industry and during his career he has worked in a range of senior engineering and senior management roles as Director and General Manager.

Mr Sun worked at Hubei Electric Power Company for more than 20 years. He was the Deputy Mayor of Shishou City, Hubei Province, responsible for Industry, Science, Technical Development and Safety Management from 2007 to 2010, and was Deputy Director of Science, Technology and Information Department of Hubei Electric Power Company from 2012 to 2013. Prior to Mr Sun’s appointment with Jemena and SGSPAA, he was General Manager of Suizhou Electric Power Supply Company, Hubei Province, in charge of the whole enterprise from 2013 to 2016.

Mr Sun holds a Bachelor Degree majoring in Power System and Automation from North China Electric Power University and a Masters Degree in Micro-processor based protection from North China Electric Power University.

Mr Sun is also a member of the ActewAGL Safety, Audit and Risk Committee.

Carol Lilley, BCom, FCA, CIA, CGAP, GAICD

Carol Lilley Carol Lilley joined the ActewAGL Board in November 2018. She has been a member of the Icon Water Board since April 2013 and is Chair of Icon Water’s Risk and Assurance Committee and a Member of the Remuneration Committee. Ms Lilley was appointed Deputy Chair of the Boards of Icon Water Limited, Icon Distribution Investments Limited and Icon Retail Investments Limited in March 2017.

Ms Lilley is a full time independent board director and Audit Committee Member. She was a Partner of PricewaterhouseCoopers Canberra (2004-2011) and was a financial statement and internal auditor from 1993 to 2011. Her experience is in financial statement audit, internal audit and project and risk management, with a particular focus on government.

Ms Lilley is currently Chair of several ACT Government Directorate Audit Committees (Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development; Education; Environment, Planning and Sustainable Development). She also has various governance roles for Commonwealth Government entities (member of the Department of Immigration and Border Protection's and Australian Federal Police’s Audit Committees; Chair of National Film and Sound Archives' Audit Committee, independent management assurer for the whole of government accounts, independent Board Member for Australian Financial Security Authority) as well as Chair of the Board of Instaclustr Pty Ltd.

Ms Lilley is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, was a registered company auditor and is a certified internal auditor.