ActewAGL joint venture board

The board of ActewAGL is made up of three members appointed jointly by the SPI (Australia) Assets Pty Ltd and AGL-owned partners, and three members appointed by the Icon Water-owned partners.

The board governs the business of the ActewAGL Retail and ActewAGL Distribution partnerships on behalf of the partners. The obligations of members of the board are set out in the Umbrella Agreement, and members must perform their duties in good faith and in the best interests of the partnerships as a whole.

ActewAGL joint venture board

Michael Easson BA Hons. (UNSW); PhD (ADFA@UNSW); MSc (Oxon.); PhD (Melbourne) – Chairman

Michael EassonMichael Easson was appointed as Chairman of the ActewAGL board in 2014. He has been a member of the ActewAGL board since October 2000.

Dr Easson is Chairman of the Association of Superannuation Funds of Australia (ASFA), EG Funds Management, and a Director of Ridley & Co. and Stadium Australia Management Limited.

Dr Easson is Chairman of Icon Water Board and a Member of the Remuneration and Nominations Committees. Dr Easson was made a Member of the Order of Australia in 1998.

He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (FAICD) and a Fellow of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (FRICS).

Paul Adams, B.Eng (Hons), FAIM, FIEAust – Deputy Chairman

Paul AdamsMr Paul Adams was appointed to the ActewAGL Board in February 2011 and in 2014 was appointed as deputy chair of the board. He is also the Chairman of the Safety and Environment Committee.

Mr Adams is Managing Director of Jemena Limited and holds directorships at Energy Networks Association, SPI (Australia) Assets Pty Ltd and various other companies. He has a breadth of experience in the energy sector, having worked across many facets of the gas and electricity industries for 30 years.

Mr Adams has held various senior roles including Manager Finance and Corporate Services, Manager Operations, and General Manager Networks for TXU. He was General Manager Networks at TXU and, General Manager Network Services Group at SP AusNet prior to his current role. He has worked in Australia, the United States and the United Kingdom.

Mr Adams has received awards including the Institution of Engineers (Victorian Young Engineer of the Year 1991) and Ernst and Young (Financial Planning Award 1995).

Paul Frazer – BA, MBA, CA, GAICD

Paul FrazerMr Paul Frazer joined the ActewAGL Joint Venture Board on 31 August 2012, appointed by the AGL Partners.

He joined AGL in 2006 and is currently Head of Group Business Development.

Prior to joining AGL he led the financial, legal and regulatory team for Victorian energy retailer Red Energy, which he helped establish. Mr Frazer previously worked in a variety of business development, financial advisory and financing roles with Contact Energy Ltd and the Chase Manhattan Bank.

Ruan Qiantu

Ruan Qiantu

Mr Ruan Qiantu was appointed to the ActewAGL board in March 2014.

Mr Qiantu was appointed Deputy Managing Director for Jemena in January 2014. Prior to this appointment, Mr Ruan was Executive Vice President, Shanghai Electric Power Corporation from 2010 to 2014.

From 2007 to 2010, Mr Ruan held the position of Chief Technical Officer and Board Director, National Grid Corporation of the Philippines. Mr Ruan was also Executive Vice President, Shanghai Electric Power Corporation from 2003 to 2007.

Mr Ruan has over 25 years’ experience working in China’s energy sector and has performed a range of senior engineering and commercial roles as Chief and Vice President.

He holds a Bachelor of Engineering degree, majoring in Electrical Power System and Automation from Tsinghua University and a Master of Electrical Engineering degree from Shanghai Jiao Tong University and an Executive MBA from the Washington University Olin Business School. In 2007 Mr Ruan completed a PhD at Tsinghua University in Electrical Power System and Automation.

In addition, Mr Ruan has also completed training with Westinghouse Electric Corporation, UK and Tokyo Electric Power Company in Electrical Power systems. In 1998 he completed a course in Energy Efficiency and Management with the United Nations.

Wendy Caird

Wendy CairdMs Wendy Caird was appointed to the Board in July 2013.

She has held a number of positions with Public Services International (France) including Co-chair Asia Pacific Region (1998-2002), a Member of the Executive Board (1997-2002), Global Director of the Quality Public Services campaign (2002 – 2006) and a Member of the Global Coordinating Committee of the "Global Call to Action Against Poverty: (Make Poverty History)" campaign (2005-2006).

Ms Caird held a number of executive positions with the Community and Public Sector Union (Australia) from 1983, including as NSW Branch Secretary, until her appointment as National Secretary in 1993. During this period she was Vice President of the Australian Council of Trade Unions and an Executive Member of the NSW Labour Council. She represented Australia at International Labour Organisation meetings, including as Co-chair of the Workers Group.

Ms Caird is a small business owner, the Vice President of the Kangaroo Valley Community Association, and a member of both the Kangaroo Valley Tourist Association and Kangaroo Valley Environment Group. She is Deputy Chair of Icon Water Board.


John KnoxMr John Knox was appointed to the ActewAGL Board in February 2014.

Mr Knox is Managing Director of Icon Water Limited, a director of Icon Distribution Investments Limited and Icon Retail Investments Limited and a member of the Water Services Association of Australia Board.

Mr Knox was the Chief Finance Officer of ActewAGL (2007 – 2014). He has an extensive background in private sector commercial management and experience across various business sectors including utilities, environmental, immigration and transport.